Skilled Migration

Skilled Visas Australia

The General Skilled Migration program is a points & invite based visa pathway for skilled individuals or families looking to migrate to Australia to fill skills gaps in the Australian economy.

This stream include visas such as:

  • Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189)  - Point Tested Stream
  • Subclass 190 - Skilled Nominated visa
  • Subclass 489 - Skilled Regional(Provisional) visa
  • Subclass 491 - Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa


Visa Benefits

Access to Medicare

Bring family to Australia

Does not require employer sponsorship

Pathway to Permanent Residency

Visa Types

Types of General Skilled Migration Visas

SC 189 - Skilled
Independant Visa

The Skilled Independent (Subclass 189) visa is an independent points-tested permanent residency pathway for skilled workers who want to work and live in Australia, indefinitely.

SC 190 - Skilled
Nominated Visa

Subclass 190 a state nominated permanent visa for skilled migrants that allows you to live and work in their nominated state or territory.

SC 491 - Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa

This temporary visa allows skilled migrants to live, work and study in a designated regional area of Australia for five years. Subclass 491 visa holders can apply for a permanent residency visa after three years from when the 491 visa is granted.


Your to journey to permanent
residency in Australia

The below timeline outlines the steps you can take to to achieve permanent residency through Skilled Visas in Australia.

Identify your occupation from the skilled occupation list.
Understand your visa options, based on your occupation.
Check your profile against the visa eligibility.
Complete your skill assessment.
Apply for an EOI (Expression of Interest).
Apply for state/territory nomination (if required).
Wait for an invitation.
Apply for the visa.

General Skilled Migration Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for an Australian Skilled Visa, you must:
  1. Have nominated an occupation on the relevant Skilled Occupation List (SOL).
  2. Have obtained a positive skill assessment for nominated occupation from the relevant assessing body.
  3. Have not turned 50 years of age at the time of invitation.
  4. Have at least competent English.

Steps for application

Identify Your Occupation

To begin the permanent residency pathway, our Agent will review your educational qualifications, skills and work experience and identify an occupation in the skilled occupation list that best suits you. 

Understand your Visa Options

Your visa options will largely depend on the nominated occupation that you have chosen in Step 1. 

For example, an occupation in the Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL), as opposed to the Short-term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL), the Regional Occupation List (ROL) or the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) ROL List. 


Check your Profile against Visa Eligibility

Based on your occupation chosen and your current circumstances, we will identify the best visa options and create a Migration Action Plan for you. 

Check your Skills Assessment

To officially begin the GSM Process, we will assist you by applying for your skills assessment. Skills assessments are issued by relevant authorities. A skills assessing authority is an organisation that checks that your skills meet the standards they set to work in a relevant occupation.Obtaining a suitable skills assessment is mandatory for GSM process, especially to count your qualification and work experience points to secure an invitation. 


Expression of Interest

An Expression of Interest (EOI) is an application made to the Department of Home Affairs expressing your interest to be considered for the GSM Program. The EOI will calculate your points, based on your skills, qualification, experience and many more and issues you an invitation to apply for a visa. 

Apply for State or Territory Nomination

In addition to the Independent Point Tested Pathways, Australian states and territories also nominate highly skilled people to move to Australia for work.These nominations are carried out under the Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190) or Subclass 491. States and territories have their own requirements, so applicants must be beware of these before lodging. 

Apply for Visa

Once you are invited, you have 60 days to apply for the GSM visa. 

Something else ?


    We are happy to answer
    any queries you may have

    Can I apply for subclass 189 directly?

    You cannot apply for Subclass 189 directly for the point tested stream. However, you can apply for Subclass 189 – NZ stream directly. 

    How many points do I need to be eligible for a GSM visa?

    Contact us for checking your eligibility.

    Can I include my family in my GSM visa application?

    Yes, you can include members of your family unit, such as:

    • spouse or de-facto partner
    • child or step child; and:
      1. have not turned 18
      2. have turned 18, but have not turned 23, and are financially dependent on you or your partner
      3. have turned 23 and are dependent on you or on the partner as they have a mental or physical disability that stops them from earning a living to support themselves
    • grandchild or step-grandchild who is a dependent of a child who meets one of the criteria.
    What if I have accidentally claimed points, I wasn’t eligible for in my Expression of Interest (EOI)?

    If you have not received an invitation, we recommend that you rectify the error in your EOI. If you have received an invitation with over-claimed points, your visa application may be in jeopardy. Get in touch with us for a detailed consultation. 

    Can my Expression of Interest (EOI) expire?

    Yes, EOI expires in two years.

    Summary of cost estimates
    for your application

    We have summarised a cost estimate for General Skilled Migration Visa.



    Paid directly to the relevant skills assessing authority.

    of Interest


    EOI Applications are free of charge.



    Paid directly to the State/Territory that process your application.


    AUD 4240

    $4,115.00 for the main applicant.



    Paid directly to the agency that undertake the medical examination.



    Paid directly to the agency that undertake the police checks

    COVID-19 Update

    In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, The Department has introduced the ‘Priority Migration Skilled Occupation List’ (PMSOL). The list identifies 44 occupations that fill critical skills needs to support Australia’s economic recovery from COVID-19. General Skilled visa applicants having a nominated occupation on the PMSOL have also had their visas priority processed in recent months.

    Send Us Your Migration Enquiry